News Flash! November 25, 2007

Deb News: Deb Danielle is over the moon about this endorsement: “Danielle Younge-Ullman’s Falling Under is heartwrenching and provocative all at once. With crisp, polished prose and a fearless narrative style, Younge-Ullman creates a spellbinding journey through young adulthood. Fans of Stephen Elliott and A.M. Homes will enjoy this raw, edgy debut.” Martha O’Connor, author of The Bitch Posse. Guest Author Series: This week the debs welcome Jennifer Estep as…

Sunday, November 25, 2007
Read More >>

My Worst Vacation, Part 2 by Deb Danielle

Thank you all for indulging me in this multi-week story of my teenage Outward Bound experience. Here is Part 2: Day Four Dear Mom, The worse we smell, the less the bugs will bother us, they say. Well, isn’t that a relief—my perma-bbq/bug spray/sweat smell is a good thing. I can see that this will also work back home in Toronto—when mosquito season hits I’ll just stop showering. It’s only…

Thursday, November 22, 2007
Read More >>

A Fictional Letter About a Very Real Vacation by Deb Danielle

June, 1990 Day One Dear Mom, Thanks so much for sending me to Outward Bound. I still think it’s unfair that I had no choice but I’m looking forward to being one with nature and, with all the hiking, I’ll probably lose that 5 lbs that made my Senior Prom dress feel a little tight. (110, here I come!) I’m sure it’ll turn out to be great that they took…

Thursday, November 15, 2007
Read More >>

Big Badness, Medieval Style by Deb Danielle

For some reason (my previous posts, perhaps?) everyone wants me to talk about Being Bad. And since I have great neighbors but no real “neighbor stories” I thought I’d approach the Badness topic this week. But how bad am I, really? Instead of diving into an existential crisis or revealing too many personal details on the internet for all the world to read, I decided to do a Badness Evaluation…

Thursday, November 8, 2007
Read More >>

Halloween & The Undercover Freak by Deb Danielle

To those of you who’ve been reading my posts since August, it should come as no surprise that as a kid, I had unique expectations of Halloween. Of course, Halloween was magical for me. Not just because of the candy, the spooky, ghosty stuff and the chance to run around outside in the dark, but because of the costumes. Halloween was a yearly opportunity not just to wear a costume,…

Thursday, November 1, 2007
Read More >>

Blown Away by Meg Tilly by Deb Danielle

There was some talk of extending the topic of “being bad” just for me, since I had Amanda Eyre Ward as my guest last week and therefore missed a golden opportunity to reveal sordid details of my past and poke fun at myself for the sake of entertainment—mine and yours. I was eager to do so and had great plans for something funny, dark and maybe just a little bit…

Thursday, October 25, 2007
Read More >>

News Flash! October 21, 2007

Deb News: Deb Danielle’s book, FALLING UNDER, has received fantastic blurbs from two authors she admires and adores: “Danielle Younge-Ullman’s novel reminds one of Mary Gaitskill’s best – sleek, erotic, wry and poignant.” Karen Karbo, author of HOW TO HEPBURN: LESSONS IN LIVING FROM KATE THE GREAT “Readers will fall under the spell of FALLING UNDER. Danielle Younge Ullman’s debut novel is captivating, cutting edge, and not easily forgotten.” Eileen…

Sunday, October 21, 2007
Read More >>

An Epic Battle by Deb Danielle

You pull up the driveway and stare at the house. It looks so nice, so innocuous with its Tudor styling and soft, green lawn. But inside lurks Big Trouble. And you are tired, under-caffeinated, stressed out—all bad things considering what you have to face… You take a deep breath at the door. Focus. Key in the lock and then you step in and voices call out in greeting. But don’t…

Thursday, October 11, 2007
Read More >>

News Flash! October 7, 2007

Deb News: The Debutante Ball was mentioned this week in John Kremer’s Book Marketing Update — you can read all about it here. Deb Lisa’s book Fifteen Minutes of Shame received a fabulous review in Publisher’s Weekly, “she delivers some surprising depth and a heroine with heart to root for.” You can read the whole review here. Deb Jess’s Riding with Larry Resnick has a new title, effective immediately: Driving…

Sunday, October 7, 2007
Read More >>

The Lie That Tells the Truth: Q&A with Karen Karbo by Deb Danielle

I’m honored this week to host journalist and author, Karen Karbo, for a Q&A. Karen has had eleven books published including the novel, “Motherhood Made a Man Out of Me,” three books in the Minerva Clark teen detective series, and three works of non-fiction, including the most recent, “How to Hepburn: Lessons on Living from Kate the Great.” Karen’s adult novels have all been named New York Times Notable Books…

Thursday, October 4, 2007
Read More >>