Interview (and book giveaway) with Jeni McFarland, author of The House of Deep Water

Saturday, June 27, 2020

It is my pleasure to welcome Jeni McFarland to the Debutante Ball today! Jeni and I have met virtually through our fellowships at Kimbilio, a national residency for fiction writers of the African diaspora. The House of Deep Water has been described as a stunning and perceptive debut perfect for fans of The Mothers and Olive Kitteridge. It made Bustle’s 23 Debut Books That Are Too Good To Ignore, Salon‘s…

Read More >>

A Favorite Book from my Childhood

Monday, June 22, 2020

One of my favorite childhood books is From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E. L. Konigsburg. The prologue is a letter from Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, addressed “To my lawyer, Saxonberg”, accompanied by a drawing of her writing at her office desk. It serves as the cover letter for the 162-page narrative, and provides background for changes to her last will and testament. Twelve-year-old Claudia Kincaid decides to…

Read More >>

Dealing with Professional Jealousy in the Writing Industry

Monday, June 15, 2020

Our blog topic this week is dealing with professional jealousy in the writing industry. But I’m going to flip that topic around and talk about building a sisterhood in the writing industry. I know that jealousy is a normal human emotion and we all feel it from time to time, but since I’ve been on this publishing journey, I’ve felt nothing but love and support from my fellow writers and…

Read More >>

Interview and Book Giveaway with Sara Desai, Author of The Marriage Game

Saturday, June 13, 2020

I’m so pleased to welcome Sara Desai to the ball today. Sara Desai has been a lawyer, a radio DJ, a historian, a bouncer and a librarian. She lives on Vancouver Island with her husband and three children. THE MARRIAGE GAME went on sale June 9th  and is an OwnVoices enemies-to-lovers rom-com that is absolutely perfect for fans of Sonya Lalli and Jasmine Guillory. Her website Twitter Read on for…

Read More >>

Press Release – 2020 Debutante Lisa Braxton Makes Her Launch into the Literary World

Tuesday, June 9, 2020

For Immediate Release: June 9, 2020­­­—Drum roll please!! It’s launch week for me, Debutante Lisa Braxton. I am the fourth of five Debs to step out onto the ballroom floor!  The Talking Drum hits shelves today. The Talking Drum is about three couples in the 1970s and how they’re affected when an urban redevelopment project takes over an immigrant neighborhood for gentrification. The fictional city of Bellport, Massachusetts, is in…

Read More >>

Drum roll please!! It’s launch week for me, Deb Lisa Braxton

Monday, June 8, 2020

3…2…1…Liftoff! It’s hard to believe but The Talking Drum has finally launched. My debut novel, the one I’ve been wanting to write since I was 6 years old, is finally out in the world. I have heard from friends and colleagues that the orders they placed through Amazon.com have arrived. Orders placed through Barnes and Noble are on their way. People who placed orders weeks ago with my publisher, Inanna…

Read More >>

Interview with Deb Lisa Braxton and Giveaway of Signed Copy of The Talking Drum!

Saturday, June 6, 2020

Lisa Braxton can be described as a “communications queen.” She’s been a radio news reporter, newspaper reporter, television news reporter and anchor, an editor of scholarly publications and a public affairs manager. It wasn’t until she left daily journalism in the early 2000s that she had the time to fulfill her dream of writing a novel. The Talking Drum debuts next week. The novel focuses on three couples and how…

Read More >>

It Makes Me Wanna Holler!

Monday, June 1, 2020

My heart is heavy. This past week has been gut wrenching—the murder of George Floyd by police, a woman in Central Park calling the police on a bird watcher because he asked her to leash her dog? It’s all too much. In the words of the late singer-songwriter Marvin Gaye, “It Makes Me Wanna Holler.” In my household we are in a period of mourning. It feels as if race…

Read More >>

Submit Your Application to Become a Member of the Class of 2021 Debutante Ball!

Monday, May 25, 2020

Every year since 2007, five debut women authors have taken part in The Debutante Ball, a group blog for authors making their debut in the literary world. Former Debs include bestsellers in the genres of women’s fiction, mystery, literary fiction, nonfiction, young adult, and more. It’s time for the Class of 2020 to pass on our tiaras. We’re looking for female or non-binary writers who have not previously had a book…

Read More >>

Getting to Wear the Pearls is Worth It

Monday, May 25, 2020

One of the best decisions I made when I began my journey to publication for The Talking Drum was applying for a spot as a debutante. I had been following the Debutante Ball Blog for more than a year and marked my calendar so that I wouldn’t miss the application window. I was ecstatic when I got the email that I had been chosen as one of the five Debs….

Read More >>