News Flash: January 9, 2011


From the 2011 Debs…

Deb Tawna has never claimed to be good at math. For several weeks, she’s been telling people Making Waves will hit shelves in eight months. On Monday, her agent (who is clearly the brains in this partnership) patiently pointed out that the August 2 release date is actually less than seven months away.

The Weird Sisters, by Eleanor BrownWe’re less than two weeks away from the release of The Weird Sisters, chosen as one of Amazon’s Best Books of the MonthDeb Eleanor was thrilled to see it mentioned in USA Today, along with two great interviews – one on Deb favorite The Divining Wand and the other on Jennifer Haupt’s Psychology Today blog!

Deb Kim was featured in several news reports this week following “from left field” accusations against Dr. Andrew Wakefield (autism/MMR.) I have a chapter in my book called Andrew Wakefield and the Anti-Vaxxers. Have you read it in hardcover or kindle?  It’s right HERE 🙂


Past Deb News…

Featured on the Ballantine Books home page! Win an advanced reader’s copy of 2007 Deb Mia’s next novel, FRIENDSHIP BREAD (written under her own name, Darien Gee), by visiting her publisher’s website at http://ballantine.atrandom.com. “For fans of Kristin Hannah and Kate Jacobs, Darien Gee’s deeply felt and utterly charming novel follows two estranged sisters, three newfound friends, and—ultimately—a whole town brought together by a simple loaf of Amish Friendship Bread.” Available for pre-order in hardcover or audio on Amazon, bn.com, and your favorite indie bookseller.

Friends of the Debs…

Glee Matthew Quick

Deb Elise went to ALA in San Diego yesterday, and was thrilled to see that Matthew Quick’s novel, Sorta Like a Rock Star, is featured in a pro-library ad campaign starring the cast of GleeMatthew is a former Guest of the Ball, and husband of former Deb Alicia Bessette.  You probably can’t see it in the thumbnail, but Mercedes is holding his book… and loving it!  Congratulations, Matt!


Deb Dish — The New Year’s Resolutions The Debs Have Already Broken

Deb Elise

I resolved to stop eating when I write late at night.  It’s now 12:01 a.m. and my mouth is full.  Oops.

Deb Eleanor

I didn’t make any New Year’s Resolutions, so I haven’t broken any.  I read the other day that most people break their resolutions by January 17th, so you still have a few days if you haven’t broken yours yet.  I feel bad because I don’t want people to break their resolutions if they are a good goal, but I like the gym a little less crowded.

Deb Kim Blame the snow!! I didn’t make 4 kickboxing classes this week. I took Thursday off and then we had a snowday on Friday. I feel boxy – all that holiday yumminess – and yet, I did not box enough to make a difference. I should box my ears. With a fox in sox and maybe a gox. (No I’m not high, but my kids are home today and I am a bit flummoxed.)

Deb Sarah

Fortunately, I can plead the fifth here. I’m pregnant–and due in weeks! This means new exercise regimen can be ignored in favor of copious chocolate-eating (well, at least for the time being!).

Deb Tawna

I don’t know that I’d say “broken” so much as “never got around to making in the first place.” Every year, I try to make one resolution that has to do with forming a long-term habit to benefit the environment (i.e. bringing my own bags to the grocery store, hanging my clothes to dry instead of using electricity with the dryer). I’ve kicked around a few different ones for this year, but haven’t actually committed to any yet. Maybe I’ll just wait ’til next December and pick something I’ve already done so I can feel like I’ve accomplished something.

The following two tabs change content below.

5 thoughts on “News Flash: January 9, 2011

    • Long live the Ball indeed! And Long live the Philadelphia Eagles… despite their sad showing against Green Bay. 🙁

Comments are closed.