[News Flash] July 5, 2020

Sunday, July 5, 2020

We hope you enjoyed yesterday’s interview and book giveaway with Nicole Mabry @fornickels author of  PAST THIS POINT. RETWEET OR SHARE for a chance to win a copy of her book! Interview (and Book Giveaway) with Nicole Mabry, author of Past This Point @DebutanteBall #ClassOf2020 #guest #author   News from the Class of 2020 Debs: Lisa Braxton invites you to watch her recent interview about The Talking Drum sponsored by the…

Read More >>

Cutting Room Floor for The Goddess Twins

Thursday, July 2, 2020

There is quite a bit that was shed from the original manuscript of The Goddess Twins to what has resulted in the published version that’s available today. When I was writing this story, I worked off of an outline, and even from the outline there are things that shifted and changed. I have found that the writing process can be like finding your way through a labyrinth. I am grateful…

Read More >>

Interview (and book giveaway) with Jeni McFarland, author of The House of Deep Water

Saturday, June 27, 2020

It is my pleasure to welcome Jeni McFarland to the Debutante Ball today! Jeni and I have met virtually through our fellowships at Kimbilio, a national residency for fiction writers of the African diaspora. The House of Deep Water has been described as a stunning and perceptive debut perfect for fans of The Mothers and Olive Kitteridge. It made Bustle’s 23 Debut Books That Are Too Good To Ignore, Salon‘s…

Read More >>

My biggest inspiration in the writing industry

Thursday, June 18, 2020

I really honestly don’t connect with the energy of jealousy when it relates to personal endeavors. I am invigorated by seeing others find their success and way in the world, and in no way think it diminishes the possibility for me. My favorite inspiration in the writing industry is Issa Rae. I have been following her since I was in my early days of graduate school for Fashion at University…

Read More >>

Advantages of writing for the 2020 Deb Ball

Thursday, May 28, 2020

When I was in my undergrad program for fashion, I took my very first writing gig blogging for a recently launched menswear site. I remember applying and being so excited when I was chosen! I felt so official with this, my first fashion writing gig. But I was super nervous upon accepting the position. I realized, my name would be “out there” and what if people didn’t like the content…

Read More >>

Submit Your Application to Become a Member of the Class of 2021 Debutante Ball!

Monday, May 25, 2020

Every year since 2007, five debut women authors have taken part in The Debutante Ball, a group blog for authors making their debut in the literary world. Former Debs include bestsellers in the genres of women’s fiction, mystery, literary fiction, nonfiction, young adult, and more. It’s time for the Class of 2020 to pass on our tiaras. We’re looking for female or non-binary writers who have not previously had a book…

Read More >>

The Goddess Twins, OUT NOW, a Summer Vacation Read

Thursday, May 21, 2020

As a kid, I absolutely adored reading for pleasure! When school was out during the summer, my very favorite thing would be getting a fat stack of books from the library and diving into new worlds like a solo adventurer. The phrase ‘summer reading’ brings up the fond memory of our local library’s annual summer reading contest. Each year, the Mt. Healthy library held a scavenger hunt style reading competition,…

Read More >>

Hooray for The Goddess Twins!

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

I love books with voice. Books where you can hear the characters talk in your head, where they’re serious and witty and believable and bold. The Goddess Twins has a lot going for it, but one of its major triumphs is the voices of its teenage protagonists. I had twin acquaintances in high school—twins who dressed differently, acted separately, took different classes, had divergent interests. One played sports. The other…

Read More >>

Drum roll please!! It’s launch week for Yodassa Williams

Tuesday, May 19, 2020

It’s finally time! Yodassa Williams is the next of this year’s Debs to step out onto the ballroom floor!  The Goddess Twins launches for publication today, May 19th. Foreword Reviews calls the book “an impressive, commanding novel about black girl magic,” and “an emotive and powerful feminist novel that inspires the innate goddess in every girl.” Kirkus Reviews says, “Continuous revelations keep the optimistic tale humming, and the cast is…

Read More >>

Creating My Customized Writing Education

Thursday, May 14, 2020

Growing up, I knew I had an overwhelming passion for reading and writing. But as a first generation daughter of Jamaican immigrants, and I knew my family had high expectations for my career path. I made murmurs that I wanted to be a writer, but they said you should want to become a lawyer, think of the steady money and prestige! Entering the fashion industry was a type of compromise…

Read More >>