Let the Children Read Whatever They Want

I was just chatting with my sixteen-year-old son yesterday about reading. “Remember how everyone loves reading when they’re in second, third, and fourth grades?” he asked. I mean, yes. I remember this quite well. My little cherub was a voracious reader, downing series after series — Percy Jackson, The Secrets of Droon, Warriors, My Weird School, and a million other things. “What happened?” I asked him. Because now, he reads…

Read More >>

The worlds my parents gave me

One of the most exciting things about becoming a mom was buying all the books. Seriously! Other people might concentrate on things like onesies, baby wipes, bouncers and cribs. I did enjoy putting all of that together—my daughter’s nursery is outer space-themed, because I’m just that predictable. For me, though, good parenting also involved making sure that my daughter had the proper reading material. Like I said. I’m predictable. My…

Read More >>

A Favorite Book from my Childhood

One of my favorite childhood books is From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E. L. Konigsburg. The prologue is a letter from Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, addressed “To my lawyer, Saxonberg”, accompanied by a drawing of her writing at her office desk. It serves as the cover letter for the 162-page narrative, and provides background for changes to her last will and testament. Twelve-year-old Claudia Kincaid decides to…

Read More >>

Interview (and Giveaway!) with Lauren Ho, Author of Last Tang Standing

What a treat to welcome Lauren Ho to The Debutante Ball today! Lauren’s debut novel, Last Tang Standing, is billed as Crazy Rich Asians meets Bridget Jones’s Diary, and wow — if that doesn’t sound about perfect for a summer read. She’s racking up all the buzz and great reviews. One of my favorite bookstagrammers says it’s laugh-out-loud with non-stop one-liners and the Library Journal’s starred review says, “The combination…

Read More >>

My biggest inspiration in the writing industry

I really honestly don’t connect with the energy of jealousy when it relates to personal endeavors. I am invigorated by seeing others find their success and way in the world, and in no way think it diminishes the possibility for me. My favorite inspiration in the writing industry is Issa Rae. I have been following her since I was in my early days of graduate school for Fashion at University…

Read More >>

Keeping Jealousy on the Outside

Between Lisa’s insightful and lovely post yesterday about creating a sisterhood and Karen’s epic piece from December about keeping your eyes on your own paper, I’m not sure I have much to add about dealing with professional jealousy. I’m a competitive and ambitious person by nature, but I’m happy to note that jealousy hasn’t been in my top five or ten challenges in the debut year. I think that’s mostly…

Read More >>

Dealing with Professional Jealousy in the Writing Industry

Our blog topic this week is dealing with professional jealousy in the writing industry. But I’m going to flip that topic around and talk about building a sisterhood in the writing industry. I know that jealousy is a normal human emotion and we all feel it from time to time, but since I’ve been on this publishing journey, I’ve felt nothing but love and support from my fellow writers and…

Read More >>

Interview and Book Giveaway with Sara Desai, Author of The Marriage Game

I’m so pleased to welcome Sara Desai to the ball today. Sara Desai has been a lawyer, a radio DJ, a historian, a bouncer and a librarian. She lives on Vancouver Island with her husband and three children. THE MARRIAGE GAME went on sale June 9th  and is an OwnVoices enemies-to-lovers rom-com that is absolutely perfect for fans of Sonya Lalli and Jasmine Guillory. Her website Twitter Read on for…

Read More >>

Read The Talking Drum by Lisa Braxton

It’s Lisa Braxton’s turn! She’s supported and cheerled and organized the rest of us Debs since August, and now her debut, THE TALKING DRUM, which takes place in 1970s Boston, is finally out in the world. I read it last weekend, and I think it’s absolutely essential. Here’s why you should read THE TALKING DRUM if you’re a writer: Lisa’s prose is spare and unsentimental. She lets the characters’ actions…

Read More >>
close
Facebook IconTwitter IconSubscribe