[News Flash] August 9, 2020

Sunday, August 9, 2020

We hope you enjoyed yesterday’s interview and book giveaway with Alia Volz @aliavolz. RETWEET OR SHARE for a chance to win a copy of HOME BAKED: MY MOM, MARIJUANA, AND THE STONING OF SAN FRANCISCO. #DebBallGiveaway #giveaway #author   Interview with Alia Volz, author of Home Baked (and Giveaway!) @DebutanteBall #ClassOf2020 #guest #author   News from the Class of 2020 Debs: Lisa Braxton is honored to have received a National Association…

Read More >>

Interviewing One of My Main Characters

Monday, July 13, 2020

This week’s topic is “The Manuscript in the Drawer.” But I have no manuscript in the drawer. The Talking Drum was my first manuscript, and thank goodness I got it published. For this week’s blog post I am interviewing one of my characters. Sydney was in my head for such a long time and is finally on the printed page. She’s been itching for an interview since The Talking Drum’s…

Read More >>

Interview (and book giveaway) with Jeni McFarland, author of The House of Deep Water

Saturday, June 27, 2020

It is my pleasure to welcome Jeni McFarland to the Debutante Ball today! Jeni and I have met virtually through our fellowships at Kimbilio, a national residency for fiction writers of the African diaspora. The House of Deep Water has been described as a stunning and perceptive debut perfect for fans of The Mothers and Olive Kitteridge. It made Bustle’s 23 Debut Books That Are Too Good To Ignore, Salon‘s…

Read More >>

Submit Your Application to Become a Member of the Class of 2021 Debutante Ball!

Monday, May 25, 2020

Every year since 2007, five debut women authors have taken part in The Debutante Ball, a group blog for authors making their debut in the literary world. Former Debs include bestsellers in the genres of women’s fiction, mystery, literary fiction, nonfiction, young adult, and more. It’s time for the Class of 2020 to pass on our tiaras. We’re looking for female or non-binary writers who have not previously had a book…

Read More >>

I wish THE TRYING GAME came out three years ago!

Thursday, April 9, 2020

I’m an older millenial, and so are a bunch of my friends. We’re the Oregon Trail generation, hundreds of thousands strong, folks who graduated college straight into a recession and have spent the last few decades struggling to survive. And here we are, our forties approaching like an overloaded freight train, and most of us have just started doing things previous generations did decades ago: buying houses, getting married, having…

Read More >>

Happy Pub Day to Amy Klein, Author of The Trying Game!

Tuesday, April 7, 2020

Today’s the day for our own Amy Klein, Friday blogger on this very website and author of The Trying Game: Get Through Fertility Treatment and Get Pregnant Without Losing Your Mind. Amy’s book is the perfect blend of memoir and manual, and I know it’s going to be an invaluable resource for thousands of women as they traverse the sometimes rocky path to having a baby. Shot through with empathy and…

Read More >>

In the face of the pandemic, bookstores find a way to keep the engine running

Monday, March 23, 2020

Ever since you were a child you knew you wanted to write a novel. But as the years went by, life and career kept you from pursuing your dream. Finally, in your 40s, you crafted your story, the one that had been stuck in your head for more than a decade. You spent years fine tuning it as best you could before submitting it for publication. However, after a while,…

Read More >>

My Personality is My Writing…

Boy do I LOVE run-on sentences. I discovered this recently while working on the audio version book of The Trying Game: Get Through Fertility Treatment and Get Pregnant Without Losing Your Mind. Now, many authors don’t get to read their own books (especially novels) but when the head of Penguin/Random House first called me, she wanted me to read the intro to my book. But then she read my book, and discovered…

Friday, March 6, 2020
Read More >>

The World of The Talking Drum: Real Places Versus the Fantasy World

Monday, March 2, 2020

In The Talking Drum, one of my main characters, Omar Bassari, reminisces about the day in 1965 when his father, Ibrahim, sat him down in their Senegalese village and told him that The Festival of the Black Arts was coming to the capital city, Dakar. Kings, emperors, and presidents from all over the world would be coming to the festival. Ibrahim’s musical hero, composer, pianist, and orchestra leader Duke Ellington,…

Read More >>

Interview with Leah Garriott, author of Promised

Saturday, February 22, 2020

I am so happy to welcome Leah Garriott to the Deb ball this week! Although she earned degrees in math and statistics, Leah Garriott lives for a good love story. She’s resided in Hawaii and Italy, walked the countryside of England, and owns every mainstream movie version of Pride and Prejudice. She’s currently living her own happily ever after in Utah with her husband and three kids. We’ll be giving…

Read More >>